Excellence in Service Awards Program

The Excellence in Service (EIS) Awards program began in the 1982-83 school year to recognize and encourage superior performance, and to cultivate a continued expectation of excellence, in Grand Haven Area Public Schools. Each year, the process starts with nominations from many sources, and then a review of nominations by the Excellence in Service Awards screening committee takes place. This committee is composed of two teachers, a parent, a non-instructional employee, an administrator, a student from the senior class, and a school board member. The teachers, parent, non-instructional employee and administrator are appointed to three-year terms. The student and board member serve one-year terms.

The EIS committee spends several hours pouring over the nominations to select the winners. The committee reads all nominations and comes to consensus using a rating scale on winners from the two main categories, which are teaching / itinerant and non-teaching. The award winners are kept confidential until the awards ceremony in May.

Each EIS award winner receives an engraved plaque, as well as monetary awards presented to them at a dinner in their honor. These monetary awards come from a variety of donors within the community—individuals, organizations and area businesses.

2017-2018 Excellence in Service Award ceremony will take place on Wednesday, May 9.

Excellence In Service Award Recipients

2017: Bob Eidson, Cathy Hegedus, Patti Konarska, Brenda Wunder
2016: Cindy Cook, Lisa Danicek, Jennifer Kenny, Mark Salik, Patti Vredeveld
2015: Judy Erickson, Linda Lukasik, Kathleen Streng, Tracy Wilson
2014: Kathy Bye, Keith Konarska, Gail Krug, Nicki Tiefenbach, Brenda Veeneman
2013: Martha Alexander, Joni Bennett, Jane Marciniak, Keely VanDort, Derek Warner
2012: Barb Sepura, Mary Chittenden, Jeff Boeve, Sue Hamstra, Scott Stanley
2011: Amy Cahalan, Sandy Jonas, Tim Simpson, Kate Augustyn, Dan Westrate
2010: Bob Whipkey, Bonnie Klont, Mike Reed, Jean Reynolds-Provencal, Brian Wheeler
2009: Steffanie Portenga, Harry Weller, Rosemary Reed, Susie Conover, Marcia Klemp
2008: Char Krass, Nancy TenHagen, Jack Provencal, Kathy Lampen, Carol Holtzclaw
2007: Kim Boersema, Connie VanSchelven, Sherry Stone, Don Verwey, Susan Frankum
2006: Peggy Lyttle, Sharon Yonker, Julia Houle, Susan Schecter, Dave Rodgers,
          Luanne Nienhouse
2005: Aaron Klanderman, Rita McLary, Rodney Schmidt, Cherie Reiss, Ray Clover
2004: Joy Eilers, Steve Groters, Thomas Puleo Jr., Karen Ralya, Carol Scanlan
2003: Dottie Bishop, Gina Gancarz, Maryann Crawford, Jim Query, Sibyl Smith
2002: Mike Walma, Rose Beach, Roger White, Michele Werner
2001: Guadalupe Cortez, Dan Scanlan, Nancy Fiore, Rhonda Bird
2000: Charlene Farmer, James Bonner, Dale Brinks, Nancy Lowe
1999: Sue Mueller, Sandy Mercurio, Gail Colvin, Larry Bates, Jean McCabe
1998: Jan Gorbach, Shirley Poulton, Elizabeth Meek, Evelyn Horness
1997: Anita Pellegrom, Mary Jane Evink, Debrah Spetoskey, David Ross
1996: Tana Deters, Henni Campbell, Robin Leppanen, Craig Flahive, Roberta Cramer
1995: Susan Larson, Carroll Bennink, Marlene Wilder, Cheryl Fricke, Dale Korbecki
1994: David Nagel, Kaye Nedderman, Carole Hawkins, Melinda Brink
1993: Kirby Chittenden, Carol Wilhelm, Barb Piers, Betty Nagy
1992: Jane Darwin, Ron Anderson, Gloria Klinger, Shirley Johnson
1991: Mary Jane McBeath, Sandy Huber, Morgan Lachney, Karen Jungslager, Barbara Rollins
1990: Susan Blakey, Herm Tanis, Bob Swart, Chuck Millard, Shirley Lemon
1989: Lois Zartman, Edith Persing, Don Anderson, Ruth Smeenge
1988: Ken Formsma, Ben Krill, Elsie Bryant, Leon Richardson
1987: Jan Ledinsky, David Fritz, Cindy Anderson, Ken Larson, Bonnie Krueger
1986: Vern Zuverink, Dee Millard, Jan Timmer, Richard Becker
1985: Bob Wolf, Sharon Boomgaard, Dorothy Klintworth, Jim VanDam
1984: Lois Morrison, Gene Rothi, Lane Smith, Roberta Sorensen
1983: James Kremer, Herm Nuismer, Jr., Rog Smant, Paul Trap

Alerts & Notices

School Closing Information

Receive alerts via text message and email via Nixle.



Syndicate content